Board of Selectmen

The members of the Board of Selectmen are the executive officers of the Town. The three-member board, elected for staggered three-year terms, is charged with the general direction and management of the affairs and property of the Town.

Their authority and responsibilities are derived from the Massachusetts General Laws and the Town's By-Laws. Their primary responsibilities include: ensuring that the town government is responsive to and reflective of community needs and values; initiating legislative policy by inserting articles in the Town Meeting Warrant and then implementing and enforcing the votes subsequently adopted; appointing the majority of the town's volunteer and professional staff; establishing administrative policy; setting program and service priorities and spending plans for the majority of municipal departments.

The Board of Selectmen are responsible for, in concert with the Advisory Board, developing fiscal guidelines for the annual operating budget and capital spending plan; convening and facilitating public discussion on a variety of important town concerns; representing the town on a number of inter-municipal boards and task forces; maintaining liaison with the town's elected representatives to the General Court and pursuing the town's legislative interests; issuing miscellaneous permits and licenses; and ensuring proper maintenance of town buildings and facilities under their control.

Contact Board of Selectmen Members

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Sue Fayne Executive Assistant to the Town Administrator & Board of Selectmen (978) 649-4514 Ext. 224
Jason Silva Town Administrator

Board Members

NameTitleTerm Expiration
Leah D. Basbanes



Kieran Meehan

Vice Chair


Ronald Mikol